settling back in or something

I’m home.

New Orleans was interesting… that’s what jme says people say when they don’t want to offend. I don’t mean it to sound bad, but I will say it was not my favorite place, and not somewhere I’ll make any sacrifices to go back to.

Bourbon Street wasn’t much fun. Lots of pretty lights… lots of drunks… lots of strip clubs.  I’m usually not at all uncomfortable in a bar, drink in hand, listening to some loud music… but there was something that overwhelmed me about the place.  I would have liked to hear more music, but with $10 covers for bands I’d never heard of, and drink minimums (when I wasn’t really feeling ‘safe’ enough to drink) we didn’t get to hear a lot.

But there were some things that caught my eye and made it a rather enjoyable time…

I loved the balconies overlooking the narrow streets – especially the ones that were full of plants.

 

I loved the narrow walkways between buildings that lead to little courtyards.

I’m fascinated by living things that take hold of any ounce of dirt they can
and grow up in the most unexpected of places…

The Cathedral was beautiful

And we took our leisure over good drink and better snacks…

Which begs the question… just how many could one eat before getting sick?

I was rather tickled by this fantastic band announcement…

And Dale, these are for you… nothing says, well, anything

like a collection of religious figures glued to the dash of your van!

The conference was good… I didn’t take many pictures, and they mostly consist of people being wrapped in TP. But I felt confirmed in my passions, and affirmed in my desire to see children brought to the forefront of what we do when we “do” church. I was especially happy to find that my obsession with human rights and justice for children is a driving force in the Vineyard movement…

6 thoughts on “settling back in or something

  1. The pics brought back many wonderful, sentimental memories for me. . . I was born in N.O. Have lots of memories of having breakfast at Cafe du Monde. My memories of then, though, don’t include a lot of the realities of now. . .

Leave a Reply

